Ecuador is a sovereign, unitary, independent, democratic, pluricultural and multiethnic state (Constitution, art. No.1). Ecuador is a Presidential Republic with a Constitutional Democratic Government headed by a president. From August 10, 1998 there is a new Constitution approved by a National Assembly, which introduced substantial changes to fortify the President’s roll in relation to the Congress, to give more independence to the judicial system and to more widely define the rights of the minorities. Suffrage is co ... read more